Devotional · Inspirational

Success || Today’s Verse

Hello beautiful people!

What’s up? How you doing? What you up to? How was your day? 

I know you’re wondering why I sound so excited today even though I haven’t been blogging for a while. Well, while we’re at the whole ‘why I haven’t been blogging in a while issue‘ let me just say that it hasn’t entirely been my fault. I’ve had a ton of things going on since July and blogging just hasn’t been so convenient. 

Notwithstanding, I know that a lot of people still make blogging work, even with the hassles of normal day life, so first and foremost let me apologize to my WP/Internet family for the unexpected hiatus. I love you guys so much and I will definitely try to put up more content more often. 

With that out of the way, let’s get into today’s post. 

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve doing some reading, listening to audio books, messages, etc. One author in particular, Joseph Prince, has been a great blessing to my life. His teachings emphasize more on the love of God and His grace that He has freely given to us. The book I’m currently reading is titled Unmerited Favor, and that’s where Today’s verse is going to be taken from. 

The Lord was with Joseph, and he was a successful man;

Genesis 39:2a NKJV

  

Let me just give a brief summary of this story. 

Joseph was the 11th son of his father Jacob. Jacob loved him more than his other sons because he was the son of his favorite wife. While his brothers worked on the fields, Joseph would stay with his father studying. Because of this, his brothers envied him and sold him as a slave when he was just a teenager. He was taken to Egypt and sold to a man called Potiphar. 

The verse above is centered on success. It says, the Lord was with Joseph and he was a successful man. If you read the previous verse, we see that this was the part where Joseph was just sold into slavery, but still it says he was a successful man. 

Wait a minute. How can a man, who has virtually nothing to his name- no clothes, no money, no food, nothing, still be qualified as a successful man. Simple. The Lord was with him.

I want you to understand that God’s definition of success is different from the world’s. With the world, success is based on what you’ve done, accomplished, or accumulated. But it is clear that real success is dependent on who you have. Joseph literally had nothing yet he had everything. He had God. 

I don’t know what you might be going through today, but I sure can guess that your case isn’t as bad as Joseph’s. I see Joseph in this verse as the worst case scenario of a failure as defined by the world. Having nothing, betrayed by his own brothers and about to be sold as a slave. But still he was a successful man because he had God. And guess what? His story didn’t end here. He went on to be the Prime Minister of Egypt and a hero, why? Because the Lord was with him. 

Friends, I want to encourage you that where you see yourself today isn’t where you’ll be forever. God has a beautiful plan for your life. But he needs you to trust him and let him take the wheel. As long as you have the presence of the Lord in your life, you are a guaranteed success. Why? Because your heavenly Father is with you. And He Himself is a success. The Bible says that He never fails and is faithful always and forever. God loves you. He truly does, and he wants the best for you. So no matter what’s going on today, I want you to realize that with God, you are a success. 

I want you to try this exercise. On your wall, or fridge, door or any surface you like, put the following sentence:

The Lord is with me (input your name), and I am a success!

Say the words out loud, as many times as you can. As you do this, your faith is activated and strengthened. It may sound silly but it’s worth a shot😊

Finally let me pray for you. 

Dear Lord Jesus, thank you for the wonderful people reading this today. I know some are unsure of a lot of things. But I pray that you strengthen them and make them understand that You are all they need. Nothing is impossible with you. And by your grace Lord, they will testify of great things that You will do for them today, tomorrow, this week, this month and this year. Thank you Jesus for being with us and for making us successful people. In your name I pray, Amen!

Thank you so much for reading. I hope you’ve been blessed by this post. You can get the book Unmerited Favour by Joseph Prince or any other books by the same author on Amazon or on the website josephprince.org. 

Do have a lovely day! 

Until next time 😘

  

Xo

Jess

8 thoughts on “Success || Today’s Verse

  1. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS! I think this is something I am going to have to remember. Sometimes you feel as though you aren’t good enough or haven’t gotten where you want to but this has reminded me that with God I have everything! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

